Texas InfoPoetry!
This is the "Website Evaluation" page of the "Pleasant Hill Elementary" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pleasant Hill Elementary  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://elemlibguides.leanderisd.org/PleasantHill/Home Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Website Evaluation Print Page
  Search: 
 

Testing Fake Websites

Does a website have true or valid information?  Here's how to tell:

1.) Check a couple of different sources. Are you finding the same information on each one? Does the information sound credible?

2.)  Is the website created by an expert? Is the information updated on a regular basis?

 

You can often tell whether a site is valid by the URL.

 Check for credibility on sites that end with these extensions:

.com   these are commercial sites

.org     created by organizations

.net     network

 

Sites with valid/true information include:

.gov   government sites

.edu   educational sites such as universities

.mil    military sites

 

 

 

Library Databases vs Websites

 

Library databases

Websites

Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field.

Websites may be written by anyone regardless of expertise. (such as Wikipedia)

Library databases contain published works where facts are checked for accuracy.

Websites may have content which has not been checked or evaluated by anyone.

Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography. (see Noodle Tools)

Websites often don't provide all the information necessary to complete a citation.

Library databases can help you narrow your topic

Suggest related subjects.

Websites often aren't organized to meet students' research needs.

Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication.

Websites may not indicate when a page is updated and may include outdated information.

(from the Libguide of Diane Rausch, Blockhouse Creek Elementary Library)

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip